Summer Fun Catch Up

   Well, It has been a little while since I have had a daily life post so, it’s time to catch up…

Let’s see there was canning and freezing….

BANANA WHOOPIE PIES (1 batch)

  August Misc

7 Pints of pickles (first years doing them so…)

August Misc

PEACHES AND PEARS….

40 quart of peaches, 23 quart of peach pie filling, 30 quart of pears, 12 pints of pear sauce

 August Misc August Misc

APPLE SAUCE… 75 quart of applesauce (took exactly 12 hours) 18 of those are 2 quart jars.

August Misc August MiscSeptember Misc

Next….This past weekend was out SS retreat… We decided to leave our boys with grandma and grandpa ebersole….

HERE ARE ALL THE BABIES BORN IN 2008

SS Retreat 2008 004a

OUR SPECIAL WESTERN MEAL ON SATURDAY…

SS Retreat 2008 008aSS Retreat 2008 010a

Now for our adorable boys…. JAIRUS IS 9 Months (actually closer to 10) and growing….

HE LOVES HIS REFLECTION

J

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU TRY TO FEED YOURSELF CHEERIOS WITHOUT REMOVING THE PLUG FIRST

J

OUR GREAT GARAGE SALE FINDS OF THE SUMMER…(Actually the boat was a trash find )

 J J September Misc

Next is Titus….THESE ARE MOMENTS I AM SO GLAD TO BE A MOM….

Our mailbox was knocked down by someone not obeying our road closed sign and needing to turn around because of it…So dear hubby went about resetting it the other night and dear Titus was intently watching and trying to help….

Titus September 008aTitus September 003a  Titus September 012a Titus September 017a Titus September 018a Titus September 023a

Last we helped a friend do apple sauce one night to give away and when we were finished each boy got the little bit left over. Well Titus finished his but it didn’t stop him from mooching. So his two friends were more then obliged to give him their applesauce by the spoonfuls…. (Note there are two spoons going to his mouth in this picture.)

Titus August 042a

HAVE AN AWESOME, RELAXING WEEK…. BLESSINGS 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Summer Fun Catch Up

  1. cwjphotos says:

    Never heard of banana whoopie pies. Care to message me the recipe? I have naners in the freezer.We lost another duck after having gained two for the drake we lost. This is why no Jet! Bad Jet! HE was tied in the yard and broke his collar! So now we are down to two again, but of different breeds. They are getting along ok.But not brothers! Grrr.. Baby was just whacking BC over the head with a plastic bat. Sigh…

  2. Blondie1485 says:

    awww… looks like a busy busy summer!!!!!:grin:

  3. Chearl says:

    Great Job with all the canning this summer!!!  It has to give you a tremendous amount of satisfaction when you see all those jars filled and ready for this winter.  Also — it takes a lot of work and “energy” to get all that done and take care of two active little boys too!  Blessings to your family.:celebrate:

  4. GodsDucks says:

    @cwjphotos – THE THING NEXT TO MY POT IS ACTUALLY PART OF IT! IT IS AN OUTDOOR BURNER TO KEEP THE MESS OF COOKING, APPLES, CORN, ETC. OUT SIDE IT WORKS GREAT! YOU CAN SEE IT IN USE IN THE APPLESAUCE PICTURE WITH ME IN IT!!!

  5. GodsDucks says:

    @Chearl – THANKS for the encouragement! It is a fun and new endeavour! *Sigh* I still have all my tomato stuff to do yet though! :whew:Stewed Tomatoes sometime this week (maybe), Sauce and Soup…Then NO MORE TIL NEXT YEAR!:oh-no: WAHOO!:celebrate:

  6. fromthecity says:

    I’m so glad we had the chance to visit when you were canning. It was fun helping you with the peaches and pears! I’d never canned before. The blister from peeling fruit for 8 hours ( and the wrinkled fingers)  finally went away. Dad had a great time playing with the boys and running errands for you while we worked. Grandma used to can before I was born. I guess after she had #’s 4 & 5 she ran out of time and energy. I don’t remember MomMom every mentioning that she canned, I’ll have to ask her. Grandma & MomMom both loved your wonderful surprise. Now to RETURN all those jars!!

  7. cwjphotos says:

    @GodsDucks – What a wonderful thing to have. I really wish we had some for of stove outside to keep the heat outside. Did you realized what you said? “YOU CAN SEE IT IN USE IN THE APPLESAUCE PICTURE WITH ME IN IT!!!” I scrolled back up expecting to see you in the pot! :)Hope you have a good day. Thanks for the recipe. Kim

  8. HSmomto4 says:

    Oh I love all the photos!!  You did more canned this year than I did!  OK so how did you make your pie filling?  I am thinking of going to Ohio next month to see my niece and apples are in season still then so i thought I would take my canner.  My husband thinks I’m crazy to take a canner 1000 miles to teach someone to can and to can for myself 😀

  9. GodsDucks says:

    @HSmomto4 – Mmm.. for apples well, I will message you my recipe… I love homemade, canned pie filling….I do both peaches and apples. Hey maybe you could swing by PA and visit on your way home 😀 It would be so fun to meet you….And maybe one of these days we will get down to visit my family in Port Charolette, so we could possibly visit you then…don’t know when that’ll be yet though….

  10. HSmomto4 says:

    @GodsDucks – I just very well may swing by and meet you for a play day!  I am still trying to work all the details out, but I’ll let you know!  I look forward to the recipes!

Leave a Reply

