Longing

With it being so bitter cold out I find my heart longing to see these beautiful creatures again.

Misc 051a July Misc

I know it’s not 20 below zero here, like our friends in Maine are experiencing or the 6 below in Mongolia (which if I understand right, is warm) but it is still super cold to this city girl.

I have even caught myself looking forward to this site…

Ebersole Vacation 2008 287a

And it may be the pregnancy in me (or the fact the the dust from our wood stove is collecting everywhere) but part of me is getting excited to open all the windows and do a massive dusting, sweeping, decobwebbing, window cleaning, and making the house smell “fresh” again.

Well, may you enjoy this season (even if its bitter cold), knowing that if the Lord tarries we will again see the sunshine, flowers and new growth that comes with spring. Until then dream of those days along with me.

Blessings

10 thoughts on “Longing

  1. sonnetjoy says:

    Whew, that clothesline is up high! Do you use a stepladder?

  2. HSmomto4 says:

    See, winter time is the time for us to open our windows and get the “spring” cleaning.  It’s the summer that makes everything so closed up and stuffy.  I can’t even get plants to grow in the summer time! :oh-no:

  3. GodsDucks says:

    @HSmomto4 – i guess the grass is always greener on the other side…

  4. GodsDucks says:

    @sonnetjoy – :big-smile:No…LOL…It is attatched to our porch and then again to our swing set. It is called an “amish washline”. At either end there is a wheel with wire around (kinda like a pullie system). As you hang wash you wheel it out and visa versa to bring it in….I love it. It actually makes hanging wash out to dry fun. Amish use it all year round. I just can’t stand that whole freeze dried thing that happens to our clothes if I hang them out over the winter.

  5. HSmomto4 says:

    @GodsDucks – Oh that is a neat idea!!  I was wondering myself how you reached those clothes…I was beginning to feel very short :ROTFL: I’m enjoying winter right now, but it will be my turn to moan and groan this summer while I’m looking at all the pictures you post of the fruit and veggies you get and can!  I can’t wait to see what you do this year!

  6. sonnetjoy says:

    @GodsDucks –  Oo, how neat! Was it custom-built or purchased and set-up?

  7. GodsDucks says:

    @sonnetjoy – it came with the house…they are pretty common in this area…local hardware stores sell the supplies to set the up. If you have a reasonable size area you can set one up. Ours is fairly moderate…the amish have long ones that go high, but that is what they have to dry clothes so…It is really nice…

  8. GodsDucks says:

    @HSmomto4 – we’ll see what gets done with three little ones around. I am kind of nervous for canning this year because of that. But God gives us grace

  9. sonnetjoy says:

    @GodsDucks – No kidding! I think these are unheard-of in my neck of the woods. My parents sometimes vacation in Amish country, so I’ll ask for them to visit some hardware stores for me while they’re there.We don’t have a dryer – can’t afford to run one, even if we could afford to buy one. I have a clothesline rigged up from the poles of an ancient volleyball net. It only fits a load, maybe a load and a half. Since I have to leave the house early in the morn and come back (in winter) after dark, I hang up the clothes at sunrise and pray against rain, because if it starts up, I can’t just dash out to the yard and rescue the clothes.

  10. sonnetjoy says:

    @GodsDucks – Oh, any idea how much the Amish ones run?

Leave a Reply

