I’m falling even more in love with you

Lately I have been finding myself whispering this simple prayer daily….

“Lord, help me to fall back in love with you like I was when I first met you!”

I have found myself in a funk of sorts. Not quite sure where to go or what I should do. 

I know I should be doing better but knowing and doing are two different things. 

The Lord has done an amazing work in my life and I am continually reminded of that.

There are days I take inventory of my “stones of remembrance” just so I don’t forget.

It is good to remember, it is good to look back at the hand of God in my life.

As I whisper this prayer, more often then not, a song from my past creeps into my mind.

I finally did some research to get the lyrics. It is highly debated whether the group is Christian or not.

It is not my intent to weigh in one way or another. What is my intent is to share with you the lyrics that seem to match my simple prayer. Read them, let them sink in.

Falling More In Love With You

Creed

Desperate for changing, Starving for truth
I’m closer to where I started
I’m chasing after you

I’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here ’till you make me move
I’m hangin’ by a moment here with you

Forgetting all I’m lacking
Completely incomplete
I’ll take your invitation, you take all of me

I’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hangin’ by a moment here with you
I’m living for the only thing I know
I’m running and I question where to go
and I don’t know what I’m tapping into,
Just hangin’ by a moment here with you

There’s nothin’ else to lose
There’s nothin’ else to find
There’s nothin’ in the world,
that can change my mind

There is nothin else,
There is nothin’ else,
There is nothin else

Desperate for changing
Starving for truth
I’m closer to where I started
I’m chasing after you

I’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hangin’ by a moment here with you
I’m living for the only thing I know
I’m running and I question where to go
and I don’t know what I’m tapping into,
Just hangin’ by a moment here with you

 

Now that you have read that, let me explain a little more. Becoming a Christian was not an easy decision.

I was first introduced to the idea 3 years prior to my commitment to Christ. I was 19 and finally out on my own serving as an intern in Maine, with little friends, little communication, and lots of time to kill. One of my favorite spots to go was a place called Children’s Chapel. (this picture was taken some years later but still as beautiful). It was just a short walk from where I was living and allowed me a place to enjoy God’s creation, read, meditate, pray and just listen. It was the perfect place for me.

Inside the chapel is a plaque that reads….

“This chapel is built to the memory of all young people who have passed through this world and gained God by so doing. It stands for freedom, thought, prayer, and action. It stands for holiness within the body, and for God in the heart each waking hour. May the Lord bless all young people who come here for spiritual and mental refreshment. – Helene Bok”

I loved to read that sign as I entered into this sanctuary. 

Once in the chapel you could sit on one of several bences and look out into the ocean. 

(picture on left taken from http://camdenmainevacation.blogspot.com/2009/12/vesper-hills-childrens-chapel-rockport.html)

(picture on right taken from http://euripidesroks.blogspot.com/2010/06/childrens-chapel-more-pics.html)

[vesper-hills-childrens-chapel.jpg] 

Anyway…all that to say, I am really looking forward to seeing what God does with my simple little prayer to fall back in love with Him the way I did in the beginning.

 

May He grant us all the desire and yearning to constantly fall back in love with Him each new day!!!

4 thoughts on “I’m falling even more in love with you

  1. You are expressing a beautiful prayer that God will honor.  Keep singing the song.  Thanks for sharing your heart!

  2. fromthecity says:

    Maybe someday I’ll get back to that splendid place. It is truly magnificant!

  3. abbigail gutierrez says:

    I followed you here from blog frog.  This song is actually “Hanging by a Moment” from Lifehouse.  And I believe they do have a christian backround because  lot of their songs are played on out chrisian station here. 

  4. abbigail gutierrez says:

    Well out of curiosity I looked this song up because I love it and wanted to listen to it.  Both Creed and Lifehouse sing it!!  haha

Leave a Reply

