Blooming

It seems like things are beginning to bloom with the early appearance of 60-70 degree weather.

Blooming in the literal sense of crocuses and daffodils and dandelions…

(this one of the many beautiful flower beds belonging to the amazing people who are blessing us with a roof over our head until we can return home.)

Blooming in the literal sense of children…

They are growing, learning, exploring, developing their likes and dislikes, showing us what makes them tick and so on…

(like these two who love to sing (which is what they are doing here while I caught up to them).

We decided today was an amazing day to go for a walk and explore…

I had so much fun watching my children do what children do, run, play and explore….

I also watched as they each melted my heart by giving me natural (unprompted) moments to get individual and group photos of them…

I was reminded again of how fleeting these years are…trying to take in all I saw today…

I felt like I have missed so much of them growing up in the past 6 months while being caught up in the tangled web of insurance fiascoes, legal red tap, and financial stresses… Today was a good day…it reminded me of my purpose and brought a renewed sense of fight to return back to “home” and get back to “normal”…These three blessed me today in a way I haven’t been blessed in a while…maybe it was the sunshine or maybe it was God speaking through these little souls…Telling me everything is okay, everything is right on schedule, that He know this all along, He wanted me to see this joy through the storm…Telling me to learn something from these adventure seeking children (it doesn’t matter the weather or how they are feeling)—they just want to see new things, experience old things, discover the wonder of the world around them…Yep…These three blessings, were used by God in a mighty way today to convey a message from Him I have been longing to hear over these past few months…

These three have grown up so much…they love each other (most days)…They pull surprises out of their hats that make a mommy smile and long to stay in this moment…

(like holding hands with a weary sister and making her smile so she is happy on the way home)

(or stopping on the path for some snuggle time, while mommy catches up)

(or racing and keeping perfect pace with the other one so you both can win).

Precious memories for sure…with sadness of knowing we won’t always be able to enjoy this quite farm lane…and joy knowing that “home” is calling us back for springtime, planting, and harvest…Yes, we have come a long way in 6 months…we are not completely there yet but we are getting closer to home. We are going to enjoy our days here in the earliness of spring and prepare for the days of heading home…all the while remembering that God is with us, we are in His will, according to His time, and enjoying His peace…

I want to leave you with a hymn that has been running through my mind today…

Take my hand and lead me, Father, 
through life’s stormy pilgrimage. 
Let thy light shine brighter, Father, 
on its dark, mysterious page, 
for I find my feet oft straying 
from the path of truth and right, 
feel the need of thy protection, 
and thy light to shine more bright. 

Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Guide me to those heavenly mansions, 
guide me to those mansions, 
there to live through endless day.

For the road is rough and stony, 
and I cannot see my way. 
Yet, if thou wilt deign to guide me 
with thine own resplendent ray, 
I can never, never stumble, 
but shall walk close to thy side, 
with a love so pure and trusting
that no sin can ever divide. 

Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Guide me to those heavenly mansions, 
guide me to those mansions, 
there to live through endless day.

Hold my hand in thine, O Father, 
till I reach the heavenly gates. 
There I’ll leave my cross and burden, 
for my star-gemmed crown awaits. 
Then I’ll sing in strains of rapture, 
in the light of perfect day, 
thou didst deign to guide me, Father, 
and hast led me all the way.

Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Take my hand, take my hand, for I cannot see my way. 
Guide me to those heavenly mansions, 
guide me to those mansions, 
there to live through endless day.


4 thoughts on “Blooming

  1. fwren says:

    Love that big ol’ brick farmhouse ~ brings back memories of my grandparents’ home ~

  2. musicaljean says:

    I love your heart for your children.  It is so true that these years go by too fast.  My theme song used to be,  “We Have This Moment Today.”  Do you know that one?   It’s a  Gaither song.   

  3. GodsDucks says:

    @musicaljean – I don’t–I’m gonna have to look that one up! thanks!

Leave a Reply

